Advertisement

California plant/tree life field guide?

topic posted Wed, February 13, 2008 - 11:13 AM by  Mud
Share/Save/Bookmark
I'm in the market for a handy dandy field guide I can tote around with me while hiking the back roads. Something that doesn't weigh more than I do but still has the nifty pictures that make identifying all the great plant/tree life in our beautiful forests easy. Does anyone have recommendations? I'd lug a hardback around with me if I had to so if you know of an awesome book that might be on the heavy side I'd still like to hear about it. Thanks for reading!
posted by:
Mud
offline Mud
SF Bay Area
Advertisement
  • Ed
    Ed
    offline 1

Re: California plant/tree life field guide?

Fri, February 15, 2008 - 12:32 AM
    I am a field biologist, and I carry Peterson's guide to western trees. It's easy to use and covers most of the trees and showy shrubs you will see in CA. There are several better regional guides, more or less useful for the non-science types, but they are restricted in their geograpic coverage. If you are interested in wildflowers, you have to pick a regional guide because CA has far too many species for a general western guide to be useful. There are some great Bay Area regional flora guides, if that's the region you are most interested in.
    • Re: California plant/tree life field guide?

Fri, February 15, 2008 - 6:21 AM
      Ed, can you offer some suggestions for the regional wildflower guides? I'm interested in that, as well. Oh, and thanks for the suggestion on Peterson's.
      • Ed
        Ed
        offline 1

Fri, February 15, 2008 - 8:28 AM
        Check out the Falcon series. They are good for the more common flowers you can expect to see. There's a Pacific Northwest wildflowers guide. They also have guides to wildflowers of the Mojave and Sonoran deserts and Great Basin - and I think they have one for the Sierras. They are good books with excellent color photos, easy to use.